Having your driver’s license taken away can cause great hardship on yourself and anyone who depends on you. Suddenly, you can no longer drive to work, school, appointments, for errands, or for anything else. Those of us who are dependent on our vehicles for transportation can find this to be a very stressful situation. Avoiding a license suspension or revocation then becomes a priority when it is threatened.
If you’re facing the loss of your driving privileges in New York City or you have been charged with driving on a suspended license, you can rely on the attorneys at Stites Law. Our team is composed of dedicated professionals who have helped thousands of individuals facing traffic offenses of all kinds every day. We are highly experienced in all of the state’s traffic laws as well as deeply familiar with the local court systems that handle violations. Our aim is to keep your record as clean as possible, help you avoid fines and other penalties, and to keep you on the road.
How Does Your New York License Get Suspended?
In New York, a license suspension means that you will be banned from driving for either a set time period or an indefinite period according to the circumstances of your case. Once that period ends, your driving privileges can be restored on your current license. This is opposed to a license revocation where your license is voided. In essence, you no longer have one and you will have to re-apply to the DMV to get a new license once your revocation period ends.
License suspensions (as well as revocations) can occur for many different reasons. These can include:
- The accrual of 11 or more demerit points on your driving record within 18 months
- Convictions of three or more violations of traffic laws within 18 months
- Fleeing the scene of an accident (hit and run)
- Conviction of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
- Driving without valid car liability insurance
- Fleeing from law enforcement
- Reckless driving
- Engaging in street racing or speed contests
- Killing someone through vehicular criminal negligence
- Three or more violations of failure to stop for a school bus
- Failure to pay child support
- Failure to pay a fine or appear in court
- Failure to pay New York state taxes
It is important to know that you should never drive while your license is suspended. Doing so could result in criminal charges depending on the circumstances. Once your suspension period is over, it may be necessary to pay the DMV a fee to reinstate your license or you may have to undergo other requirements for reinstatement. The reinstatement process will depend on the particulars of your case.
Driving with a Suspended License
Driving with a suspended license can result in a misdemeanor or felony charge. Aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle may be charged as a third-degree or second-degree misdemeanor carrying fines and potential jail time. First-degree aggravated unlicensed operation is charged as a more serious felony. Fines for convictions of these charges can range from $500 to $5,000 along with incarceration. Jail time for third-degree is up to 30 days. Jail time for second degree is up to 180 days. Prison time for first-degree is up to four years.
Stites Law Is Here for You
Facing a license suspension or an aggravated unlicensed operation charge can have a huge impact on your life. Get experienced legal help from a New York City traffic ticket defense team that has proven itself over and over again. We have helped more than 125,000 clients in our years of practice. Our NYC attorneys will work tenaciously to help you achieve the best possible result based on the circumstances of your case.
Call us at (212) 729-0472 for a free case analysis or arrange for a free consultation through our online request form today.