Maintaining auto insurance is important for all kinds of reasons. It’s especially good to have when you’re involved in a car accident and need it to pay for repairs and medical bills. Insurance, however, is important for another reason: You’re required by law to have it.
All New Yorkers, by law, must maintain auto insurance for their vehicles. This requirement isn’t taken lightly, either. If you are pulled over by a police officer, you can expect to present your driver’s license, car registration, and proof of insurance. If you can’t produce proof of your insurance, the police officer can write you a ticket.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in New York
A ticket for driving without insurance can cost you anywhere from $150 to $1,500, but the financial burden of this violation doesn’t always end with a fine.
You will also have to pay court fees as well as any costs associated with impounding your vehicle. The court can also revoke your license and registration, which can cost $750 to reinstate. There’s also the possibility of missing work because the judge can sentence you to jail for up to 15 days.
Ticketed for Driving Without Insurance? We Can Help.
In many cases, those who are ticketed for driving without insurance are those who are between policies or didn’t have their paperwork on hand when they were pulled over. In situations such as these, it may be possible to successfully defend against this type of traffic violation as well as avoid or mitigate many of the worst penalties.
If you’re looking for a better outcome for a traffic ticket, Stites Law can help. Contact us online now to learn more.